top of page

Xoxo


DAY 23 - X

"I love you like XO!" - A Beyonce song, "XO"

This song was one of the songs we used on our wedding slideshow. So good! Yes, I am part of the BeyHive aka I am a Beyonce fan. Mostly, her newer work rather than her older work. Besides all that, I came up with this topic this morning when I asked my LO for a kiss over and over again, then dad did the same. I said, "she's getting much better with her kisses!" So cute! Nothing better than a sweet toddler peck on the lips.

Then I start thinking, where did the term 'x' and 'o' come from and why does it symbolize 'kiss' and 'hug', respectfully? Does 'x' look like a kiss and 'o' look like a hug? Does 'xo' together resemble a kiss on a face? What about early writing, like longhand? Even though it has faded, perhaps there are still elements of longhand that bleed into our modern way of writing, especially over the internet (e.g. signing off emails, etc).

There are many different theories as to where and when 'xo' first emerged and what it originally meant.

Initially, 'x' was meant to symbolize Christ and the Cross, then a cultural shift happened where women were using the symbol to sign off letters to their lovers before they were wed. (source) Today, many refer to the 'x' as the shape of the persons' mouth when they kiss.

'XOXO' have long been connected since medieval times through games like tic-tac-toe. Perhaps the 'o' was an easy symbol to use with 'x'. Or, what does a hug look like? When you embrace someone, you tend to make a circle with your arms while you do so, right? So, maybe that is where the 'o' comes from? Not many people really know, however, those are some theories.

I love learning where symbols, sayings, nursery rhymes and jokes come from. I guess that's the linguist and etymologist in me!

What do you think? Do you use XO in your sign-offs?


    bottom of page