top of page

Wingin' it


DAY 22 - W

I have been doing a lot of research lately with regards to 'what on earth am I going to do on a plane with a toddler for 5 hours...by myself!?' We didn't want to purchase another ticket so that my 17-month-old daughter could have her own seat, therefore, she will be on my lap. Ugh.

This trip that I am referring to is coming up at the beginning of July where my LO (little one) and I are flying to Hamilton, Ontario to visit my sister and her family. I cannot wait! We have lots of fun plans to swim in her awesome pool, go to Niagra Falls (again), Jordyn will visit her great grandmother and my aunt again on the farm with lots horses, ducks, pigs, and all sorts of animals that she loves. She loves her cousins and she will have such a blast!

I am just a bit nervous about the flight...

Among my research, I found this great article on The Bump (thebump.com) called A 12 Step Guide To Flying With Toddlers:

1. Plan the flight ahead.

2. Use bedtime as a tool.

3. Find the airport's play areas.

4. Get help from anyone you can.

5. Pack cups, not milk.

6. Overpack games, puzzles, books, and snacks.

7. Know that takeoff and landing are the hardest times.

8. It's not the time to enforce every rule.

9. Use the bulkhead and aisle for sleep.

10. Don't worry about anyone else.

11. Grab sleep when possible.

12. Accept the problems and roll with them.

These are great points. The article goes into more detail, so check it out. I think I need to change my seat as I have booked my ticket already! Kids come with so much luggage, too; stroller, diapers, toys, snacks, books, blankets, car seat, pack n play, favourite stuffy, baby monitor, and so on. I will get my sister to supply some on her side, but jeesh!

Any tips on travelling with a tot?

Below are some photos of our last trip to Ontario.


    bottom of page