top of page

Venture


DAY 22 - V

Today's topic is something that I have been thinking about for a really long time and that is to venture on a creative path that has been simmering inside me since I was little...but I just never knew how to take the first step!

I have had numerous job titles from waitressing, restaurant management, ESL teacher, research assistant, and medical/general transcriptionist, but I have always wanted to do something creative. Since moving to Vancouver Island, I have been fortunate enough to now have the space to work and I feel more artistic out here, too! There are many amazing artists out here, and I have quite the family history of artists, as well.

As a SAHM mom that isn't going back to work just yet (outside of home), this just might be the time for me to get my artsy hat on and start painting, sketching, writing and chalking! I am still trying to find my medium, or mediums and how I will begin this path, but I think I just have to take the leap! Gathering my materials, making an inventory and defining my niche will be my first steps.

Daunting as it may seem, I hope to have you peruse and I will keep you updated on my progress!

As for the other job opportunity I wrote about before (here), it turns out they wanted too many hours than I was able to give at this point in time (which was one of my main concerns), so I had to let it go today. Especially coming into the summer with so many plans to be away, I just didn't want to commit and then let my team down. I hate quitting, but I have to think of myself as well. I need to keep my head above water so that I can be present for my family.

I believe that doing art will both be on my time and also be therapeutic for me. It just might be a win-win. We'll see! #alwayssearching #anythingcanhappen

Below are a few pieces that I have created in recent years.

The washitape images are in my downstairs playroom (see Playroom blog, here). The big blackboard is in my dining room, which we installed last year by painting it on the wall and the hubs stained and added the frame (I think we'd make a good creative team!). The wood panel was made as a housewarming girt for my girlfriend and her hubs and was a custom quote he sent to her when they were first dating. The blocks were made for that same girlfriend's baby shower and the last photo was made for my other friends' wedding a few years back.


    bottom of page